All Vinland Saga Arcs in Chronological Order: A Complete Guide


Vinland Saga, the historical action and adventure anime series adapted from Makoto Yukimura’s manga masterpiece, has captivated audiences worldwide with its gripping portrayal of Viking culture. As one of the finest new-generation anime series, its transition from Wit Studio to Mappa for the second season was met with excitement and anticipation. The debut of the second season on January 9, 2023, was a momentous occasion that marked the continuation of an epic journey.


A comprehensive grasp of each arc in the series Vinland Saga


  1. War Arc

Vinland Saga Arc

The saga of Vinland is divided into four distinct arcs, each presenting its own riveting narrative. First comes the War Arc, which was brilliantly brought to life in the debut season. This arc, spanning from Chapter 1 to Chapter 54 of the manga, introduces us to the central character, Thorfinn. 


His burning desire for revenge against Askeladd, the man responsible for his father’s death, sets him on a treacherous path. Joining Askeladd’s band, Thorfinn finds himself entangled in a complex conflict between England and Denmark, where he must confront both external adversaries and his own inner demons. The first season’s 24 episodes masterfully covered the captivating events of this arc.


  1. Slave Arc


With the transition to the second season, the focus shifts to the Slave Arc, also known as the Farmland Arc. This compelling arc begins with Chapter 55 and unfolds until Chapter 99 of the manga. Spanning 45 chapters, the second season, animated by the talented Mappa Studios, delves into Thorfinn’s struggles as a slave at Ketil’s Farm. 


There, he forms a profound bond with fellow slave Einar as they aspire to break free from their shackles and reclaim their freedom. Simultaneously, King Canute, a key character, embarks on his mission to create a utopian paradise and confronts the ominous Crown Curse. The 24 episodes of this season promise to be a captivating journey through this significant arc, exploring themes of freedom, friendship, and destiny.


Also Read: Metamorphosis Manga: What to Expect and How to Read It


  1. Eastern Expedition Arc

Eastern Expedition Arc

Following the Slave Arc, the third chapter in the saga is the Eastern Expedition Arc, encompassing Chapters 100 to Chapter 166 of the manga. Here, the narrative takes a monumental turn as Thorfinn returns home after years of being away. His quest to gather funds for his dream of reaching Vinland takes him east to Greece, where he embarks on a journey filled with new allies and formidable challenges.


Among those pursuing him is Sigurd, the son of Halfdan, who adds another layer of tension to Thorfinn’s journey. With its intense and intricate plotlines, the Eastern Expedition Arc provides a fresh and enthralling perspective on Thorfinn’s character and his aspirations.


  1. Vinland Saga Arc


Lastly, the Vinland Saga Arc, which is currently ongoing, serves as the climax of the entire series. Beginning with Chapter 167, this arc centers on Thorfinn’s voyage to the fabled land of Vinland. However, as he reaches the promised land, unforeseen obstacles and trials await him, pushing him to confront his beliefs, desires, and purpose. 


With Mangaka Makoto Yukimura promising more than 1000 pages and 50 chapters for this climactic arc, fans are brimming with excitement and curiosity to witness the grand conclusion of Thorfinn’s arduous journey.


While it is bittersweet that the saga will come to an end, the Vinland Saga fandom eagerly awaits the unfolding of this final arc. As the tale draws to a close, the anticipation is palpable, with fans speculating on the fate of their beloved characters and the ultimate fate of Vinland. Mangaka Makoto Yukimura’s meticulous storytelling and the anime’s stunning animation have ensured that this epic will forever hold a special place in the hearts of fans, and the Vinland Saga Arc promises to be a breathtaking finale that will leave a lasting impact on the world of anime.

Sohel Ansari
Sohel Ansari
Sohel Ansari, a seasoned US Sports author at Sportzhive, blends fervor into captivating coverage, channeling insights from elite platforms across NBA, MLB, and NFL, echoing Kobe Bryant's 'Mamba Mentality' in his transformative writing journey. 🏀⚾🏈


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

Why is the God Statue Smiling in Solo Leveling? Explained

Solo Leveling has a lot of hidden mysteries and...

One Piece Chapter 1106: Epic Clashes and Unexpected Arrivals

The peak fiction One Piece has been blowing its...

Why is Kagurabachi So Popular? Breaking Down the Manga’s Hype Factors

Kagurabachi is a new fan-favorite manga that is ongoing....

Top 10 Strongest Characters in Solo Leveling, Ranked

Solo Leveling is probably a name that is well-known...